Give advice to yourself in the past

picture-2

A friend just sent me a link to this curious online project.

The site is comprised of work made by the general public in response to assignments given by artists Miranda July and Harrell Fletcher.
Participants accept an assignment, complete it by following the simple but specific instructions, send in the required report (photograph, text, video, etc), and see their work posted on-line.


My personal favorite is Assignment #53 ‘Give advice to yourself in the past.’ Given that I rarely follow my own advice, it might well be a useful exercise to write down all the things I should have done at a certain point in my not-so-distant past. I have a funny feeling I’m probably still making those same mistakes…

On second thoughts, maybe I will start with Assignment #58 ‘Record the sound that is keeping you awake.’ Last night it was someone watching Love Actually at 2am…Grrrrr!

One response to “Give advice to yourself in the past

  1. Following Miranda is a great way to expand your mind. Follow her down this road to be inspired again.

Leave a Reply

