Confessions of an amateur typographer

typography
I like to think that I’ve always had some appreciation of typography.

I distinctly remember my art teacher taking my class of 11-year-olds to a presentation on careers within the design industry, and being shocked that people created typefaces for a living.

I get the impression that most of the time, people tend to ignore or fail to notice typography. We are so interested in consuming the content we have sought out, that we are blind to the medium in which it’s delivered.

I’ve recently started going to a typography workshop at Schematic. A rather nice German lady comes into the office in the afternoon, gives a presentation to the design team, and then gives us some feedback on the assignment she set the previous week.

The classes have really opened my eyes. Sure I have always tried to think about which typeface to use and occasionally about point size and content hierarchy. What I never quite appreciated, however, was how subtle changes in cut, composition, leading, tracking and kerning could all greatly affect the overall impression conveyed or the connotative value created.

I’m off to design my own typeface. Perhaps I’ll take a leaf out of Eine’s book and showcase the results on shutters in Brooklyn…

eine_alphabet
Oh…I almost forgot; last week I bought a rather nice little book called Words Fail Me by the designer and typographer Teresa Monachino, which subverts and pokes fun at some of the anachronisms, contradictions and peculiarities of the English language. It definitely makes a good present, and perhaps most importantly, is a great example of beautiful typography. Worth a look…

words-fail-me-3…last but not least, and still on the subject of presentation, I’m going to try to change the blog header every couple of weeks. All images will be created by the very talented photographer (and great friend of mind) Adam Jacobs.

6 responses to “Confessions of an amateur typographer

  1. While you’re at it, can you invent an LT typography for me? I’d be interested to see how you interpret a person into a typography. How would a Dylan typography differ to an LT one?

  2. It is said that typeface choice and typographic style says a lot about the personality of the creator. I like to use Helvetica a lot. Not quite sure what that says about me…I’ll get working on a font that reflects the wonders of LT

  3. Have you heard about the documentary all about Helvetica?

    http://www.helveticafilm.com/

  4. what is the typeface in the poster at the beginning of hte post? the white on dark.

  5. Hi Sid, it’s Batman’s favorite: Gotham…

  6. Pingback: Books to Give to Clients as Gifts | giverslog.com

Leave a Reply

